Cape Town Load Shedding: When and Where?

Article updated at 15:26 (14/03/2019).

As per the Eskom Website/Twitter:

As per the City of Cape Town’s website/Twitter/Facebook page:

Eskom load-shedding active: 14 March 2019

Stage 1 load-shedding active between 11:00 - 23:00 and affects City and Eskom-supplied customers. Check the schedule for affected areas and times, and be prepared for outages.

So what does this mean for us and which areas will be affected and when?

Here are some resources and guides:

The Go To Guide for the Eskom Power Cuts provided by the City of Cape Town.

In the above document, there were a couple of noteworthy points to keep in mind.

  • Based on the national power grid, Eskom may change or suspend the load shedding stage at any time.

  • If load shedding does not occur in your area as indicated on the current schedule, it does not mean you will be excluded next time.

For Stage 1 Outages (City Managed Areas)

The below is according to the City of Cape Town Schedule if Load Shedding Commences as warned by Eskom in the embedded tweet above.

Group 1 (02:00 - 04:30) Neighbourhoods include Bellville and parts of Parow (Full Map)

Group 2 (04:00 - 06:30) Neighbourhoods include Maitland and parts of Milnerton (Full Map)

Group 3 (06:00 - 08:30) Neighbourhoods include Strand and Somerset West (Full Map)

Group 4 (08:00 - 10:30) Neighbourhoods include Mitchells Plain and Philippi (Full Map)

Group 5 (10:00 - 12:30) Neighbourhoods include Newlands, Claremont and Hanover Park (Full Map)

Group 6 (12:00 - 14:30) Neighbourhoods include Durbanville, Kenridge, Welgemoed, Eversdal and Tyger Valley (Full Map)

Group 7 (14:00 - 16:30) Neighbourhoods include Oranjezicht, Gardens, Tamboerskloof, University Estate, Green Point, Three Anchor Bay, Mouille Point, Sea Point, Fresnaye, Clifton, Bakoven, Bantry Bay and Camps Bay. (Full Map)

Group 8 (16:00 - 18:30) Neighbourhoods include Muizenberg, Tokai, Noordhoek, Kommetjie, Kalk Bay, Fish Hoek, Ocean View and Simon’s Town (Full Map)

Group 9 (18:00 - 20:30) Neighbourhoods include Langa, Epping and Pinelands (Full Map)

Group 10 (20:00 - 22:30) Neighbourhoods Kraaifontein, Brackenfell and Kuils River (Full Map)

Group 11 (22:00 - 00:30) Neighbourhoods include Constantia, Bergvliet, Wynberg, Plumstead and Hout Bay (Full Map)

Group 12 (No Load Shedding) Neighbourhoods include Athlone and Mannenberg (Full Map)

Group 13 (No Load Shedding) Neighbourhoods include Plattekloof, Goodwood and parts of Parow (Full Map)

Group 14 (No Load Shedding) Neighbourhoods include Atlantis, Blouberg, Atlantic Beach Golf Estate and Melkbosstrand (Full Map)

Group 15 (No Load Shedding) Neighbourhoods include Observatory, Rosebank, Rondebosch and Mowbray (Full Map)

Group 16 (00:00 - 02:30) Neighbourhoods include parts of Retreat, Philippi and Ottery (Full Map)

For areas 17 - 23 please visit the Eskom website. These areas include neighbourhoods such as Delft, Blackheath, Eerste River and Blue Downs.

Find your neighbourhood and connect with your neighbours. Stay informed, protect yourself, your family and your community.

Here are a few neighbour recommended apps:

  • Eskom Se Push

  • Load Shedding CT

  • Load Shedding Notifier

Keep safe and keep an eye out for your neighbours. Criminals too know when power outages occur and are also on the lookout for opportunities during these trying times.

Team Neighbourly

Disclaimer: We cannot confirm whether the above information is correct or not as is provided by a third party. The above information is provided by the City of Cape Town and Eskom on their respective websites.

Image Credit: Rodion Kutsaev